Archive | 12:35 am

Cane Twist: Fresh sugarcane juice

3 Jul

One of my friends commented that all my posts are about food in New York, Vietnam or some other country. That’s one of my fears about this blog: that I sound too hoity-toity or worse, like a douche. I mean, blogging about food seems shallow enough, but to combine food and travel? It borders on vacuous. So yeah, in an attempt to make the posts hit a bit closer to home, I’m going to post about a cute stall I found in SM Megamall and SM North Annex.


Cane Twist


It’s cute that the juice is actually made to order.

I’m all about fresh ingredients now, so I got really curious when I saw the real sugar canes on display. Who knew that this concept would work in such a “sanitized” setting? The last time I saw fresh sugarcane juice was in the streets of Vietnam. I badly wanted to try it, but my dad was warning me about getting cholera from street food.

At P25 for a small cup, it’s a great, natural way to quench your thirst. I tried the Natural Twist, which is plain sugarcane juice. I’m guessing the Pandan twist would taste really good, too. Fresh sugarcane extract, ice and some water -sometimes all it takes are simple, raw ingredients.