Go to 168 for soft bread

4 Apr

168 Mall is a treasure trove of great buys -that is, given a discerning eye. While most shoppers walk away with clothes, shoes and random knickknacks (like Rubik’s cube keychains), those whose grumbling stomachs lead them to scour the food court should head over to Chopsticks Spoon… and Xin Yi Long Cake.

Photobucket
Gelatin molded into cake.
Like any other bakeshop, Xin Yi Long Cake sells bread, loaves, rolls and cake (that can be made to order). The salesladies kept mum about where the all the bread was baked. Meanwhile, I kept myself busy trying to sift through the Chinese labels for the expiration date.

Photobucket
(So sorry for the grainy pictures, I didn’t have a digital camera with me so I had to make do with my cellphone camera.)

Photobucket
Like floss from BreadTalk
What I really likeabout Xin Yi Long Cake is that their breads are really, really soft… like buttery clouds. (As cliche as it may sound.)

Photobucket
It lives up to its name.

Not pictured but purchased were biscuits (which looked and tasted like hopia —that was sat on by someone very hefty) and spinach bread with mahu (a ridiculously soft loaf with a floss and spinach center).


Site Meter

Leave a comment